I’m Aware That I’m Rare: Elsa Garza, DPN (297)

phaware global association®
5 min readDec 1, 2019

The phaware® interview

Elsa Garza, DPN specializes in Pulmonary Medicine and has sub-specialized in Pulmonary Hypertension since 2009. Caring for patients with Pulmonary Hypertension is her passion.

In this episode, she discusses addressing anxiety or depression that may come with a PAH diagnosis.

My name is Elsa Garza. I’m an acute care nurse practitioner. I currently work out of the pulmonary hypertension office in Chicagoland area.

I actually started working with pulmonary hypertension patients many years ago when I first graduated as a nurse practitioner. I’ve been working with PH patients since then. These patients are very complex and they require a lot of attention in every aspect, not just in their workup, but also just getting to know them on a personal level and being able to develop a rapport and open communication with them so that you can actually talk to them as more of a human being and really help them understand what’s going on.

--

--

phaware global association®

Are You #phaware? Pulmonary hypertension (PH) is a rare, life-threatening disease affecting the arteries of the lungs. www.phaware.global