I’m Aware That I’m Rare: Debra Hines-Bruce (261)

phaware global association®
7 min readDec 1, 2019

The phaware® interview

Pulmonary hypertension patient, Debra Hines-Bruce discusses her PH diagnosis and how a chance encounter at a patient conference turned into a marriage proposal.

My name is Debra Hines-Bruce and I am a pulmonary hypertension patient.

It started out in November of 2015. In 2008, actually, I decided that it was time to take over my life. I was 326 pounds, miserable, in a class teaching health and a light bulb went off. “How can you teach health and you’re not healthy?” So at that point, I decided to start dieting and exercising and that’s exactly what I did. I worked hard, I changed my diet. I worked out every day, sometimes twice a day, and I was successful. After two years, I lost 140 pounds, and I continue to keep it off.

After that, I kind of plateaued and weight wasn’t coming off the way it should. So, I decided to join a boot camp. And I did, I joined the boot camp and it was awesome. Life was great. So, I normally have a yearly exam with my doctors. I have wonderful doctors, and I just have a…

--

--

phaware global association®

Are You #phaware? Pulmonary hypertension (PH) is a rare, life-threatening disease affecting the arteries of the lungs. www.phaware.global