I’m Aware That I’m Rare: Brian Hanna, MD

phaware global association®
4 min readMay 29, 2018

The phaware® interview

Brian D. Hanna, MDCM, PhD, FAAP, FACC, is a board-certified cardiologist and Director of the Section of Pulmonary Hypertension at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. His research Interests include: natural history of pediatric pulmonary hypertension, treatment trials for pulmonary hypertension, and the role of pulmonary hypertension in congenital heart disease. Dr. Hanna discusses pediatric cardiology and innovative pulmonary hypertension research.

My name is Brian Hanna, I run the pulmonary hypertension program at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

I’ve been at it for a while, I’m considered to be one of the old men. Yet, from a work point of view, my role has been as a clinician. Yes, I have done many other things as a pediatric cardiologist but, in pulmonary hypertension, I look after and I play with kids.

We have developed a program in our institution which is rather large, and because of that I think that we have, in some small way, advanced some of the science, some of the understanding. It is…

--

--

phaware global association®

Are You #phaware? Pulmonary hypertension (PH) is a rare, life-threatening disease affecting the arteries of the lungs. www.phaware.global